We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

University Committees

Teaching and Learning Sub-Committee

Standing Orders

Sub Committee of Education Committee (Strategy committee of Senate)

These Standing Orders should be read in conjunction with the Joint Standing Orders of Senate and Council.

Membership (Composition)

(Members 2019/20)

Ex officio members:

Director of Durham Centre for Academic Development (Chair)

Professor Nicola Whitton

One delegate from the PVC (Colleges and Student Experience)

Mrs Hilary Osbourne

Durham Students' Union Academic Affairs Officer (UG/PG)

Ms Sam Johnson-Audini

Director of Library and Collections (or Nominee)

Mrs Elizabeth Waller

Director of the Careers and Enterprise Centre (or Nominee)

Mrs Catherine Richardson

Head of Student Registry (or Nominee)

Mrs Melanie King

A representative from Durham Centre for Academic Development

Dr Malcom Murray

Co-opted members:

An Academic Representative from the Faculty of Science

Dr Jacquie Robson

An Academic Representative from the Faculty of Social Sciences and Health

Professor Chris Stokes

An Academic Representative from the Faculty of Business

Ms Beth Picton

An Academic Representative from the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Dr Aziza Zaher

Head of Curriculum, Learning & Assessment (or Nominee)

Dr Ellen Chapman


To be provided by the Curriculum, Learning and Assessment Service.


The sub-committee shall normally meet twice per academic term. Additional meetings may be scheduled at the chair’s discretion. It will also interact electronically to progress its business.

Terms of Reference

a) to promote innovations in teaching, learning, assessment, and employability, embracing effective new pedagogies and technologies, and disseminating good practices;

b) to advise UEC, Senate and Council on the physical and digital learning environments required to support and enhance education and related student experience, including libraries, teaching laboratories, IT facilities, and College learning spaces;

c) to scrutinise programs for the professional development in teaching and learning of research students and academic staff.