We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

University Committees

Senate Discipline Committee

Standing Orders

(Business/Operations Committee of Senate)

These Standing Orders should be read in conjunction with the Joint Standing Orders of Senate and Council.

Membership (Composition)

Members 2021/22
A Chair appointed by Senate on the recommendation of Senate Agenda Setting Committee: Professor Paula Chadwick (2023) (16)

Two members of staff drawn from a pool of staff, comprising a minimum of five members of staff per Faculty, appointed by Senate on the recommendation of Senate Agenda Setting Committee.

Any staff member of the Committee may be asked to serve as a Deputy Chair.

  • Arts and Humanities
Dr David Lowther (2023) (20)
Dr Helen O’Connell (2024) (21)
Professor Mark Sandy (2023) (13)
Dr Simon Ward (2022) (19)

One to be appointed

  • Business
Professor Bernd Brandl (2022) (19)
Dr Anastasiia Parakhoniak (2022) (19)
Dr Xing Wang (2024) (21)
Ms Carrie Wright (2022) (19)
Dr Karena Yan (2022) (19)
  • Science
Professor Steve Abel (2022) (19)
Professor Ashraf Osman (2023) (17)
Dr Philippa Petts (2022) (19)
Dr Nadja Reissland (2024) (21)
One to be appointed
  • Social Sciences and Health

Dr Matthew Brain (2022) (19)

Professor Megan Bruce (2024) (21)

Dr Barend van Leeuwen (2024) (21)

Professor Clare McGlynn (2024) (21)

Dr Emma Poulton (2024) (21)

One to be appointed

Two student representatives nominated by Durham Students' Union , who are to be either students serving on Durham Students' Union /University Committees or Sabbatical Officers who are members of Durham Students' Union:

Selected from a pool of students

A full date after a member's name indicates that their term of office will expire on the 31 July in that year and a half date indicates the year of appointment of that member. eg (2022) (19) indicates that the member was appointed in 2019 and their term of office will expire on the 31 July 2022.

No member attending a disciplinary hearing should have been involved in the matter at an earlier stage.


A Secretary to be appointed in consultation with the Chair: Mr Alex Hopkins


A quorum of three members of the SDC will attend a discipline hearing and will be comprised of:

  • The Chair or a Deputy Chair
  • One member of staff, drawn from the pool of staff, who may also be a Deputy Chair
  • One student representative drawn from those nominated by Durham Students' Union
  • At least one member shall be staff and one a student representative
  • At least one member shall be a man and one a woman

Terms of Reference

The members attending a disciplinary hearing shall follow the procedures set out in the University’s General Regulations IV – Discipline.