Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Council

Council

Council is the governing body of the University and its Trustee Board. Council has ultimate responsibility for all the affairs of the University, subject to the powers reserved to Senate. The core responsibilities of Council include:

  • setting the strategic direction of the University
  • the custody, control and disposition of all its property and finance
  • reviewing the work of the University
  • advancing the interests of the University, maintaining its efficiency and encouraging the prosecution of learning and research in the University.

Further information is provided under roles and responsibilities.

Council is comprised of independent (lay), student and staff respresentatives and is chaired by an independent member.

Council meetings

2016-17 Meeting Dates
Venue

Monday 19 September 2016 (Awayday)

Tuesday 20 September 2016 (Awayday)

Tuesday 25 October 2016

Tuesday 15 November 2016

Tuesday 13 December 2016

Tuesday 7 February 2017

Tuesday 4 April 2017

Tuesday 18 April 2017 (Joint meeting of Council and Senate)

Tuesday 23 May 2017

Tuesday 11 July 2017

Lindisfarne Centre

Business School

Lindisfarne Centre

Collingwood College

Lindisfarne Centre

St Mary's College

Lindisfarne Centre

Business School

Lindisfarne Centre

Lindisfarne Centre

2017-18 Meeting Dates
Venue

Monday 18 September 2017 (Awayday)

Tuesday 19 September 2017 (Awayday)

Tuesday 31 October 2017

Tuesday 19 December 2017

Friday 2 February 2018

Monday 12 March 2018 (Joint meeting of Council and Senate)

Tuesday 13 March 2018

Wednesday 9 May 2018

Tuesday 10 July 2018

Monday 17 September 2018 (Awayday)

Tuesday 18 September 2018 (Awayday)

Tuesday 30 October 2018

Tiesday 11 December 2018

Lindisfarne Centre

Business School

Lindisfarne Centre

Lindisfarne Centre

To be confirmed

To be confirmed

To be confirmed

To be confirmed

To be confirmed

To be confirmed

To be confirmed

To be confirmed

To be confirmed