We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

University Committees

Senate AEA Election

2020 Elections to Senate and Academic Electoral Assembly Standing Committee

Members of the Academic Electoral Assembly are invited to elect six individuals to its Standing Committee and to serve as members of Senate.There are 6 seats to be elected to serve from 1 August 2020 for a period of three years.

Given Senate's responsibilities as the guardian of academic standards and a debating forum for matters of strategic academic importance, AEA members nominated for election to Senate would be expected to demonstrate the following:

  1. A commitment to attend and participate in meetings of Senate and the Standing Committee of the AEA normally twice a term.
  2. Sufficient relevant experience of teaching and/or research to be able to contribute effectively to discussions on academic policy at Senate. This experience should be derived from playing a significant and direct role in these activities at an appropriate level

Equality and Diversity

At Durham University, our aim is to create an open and inclusive environment where everyone can reach their full potential. Committees should reflect the true diversity of our University community and have a membership which brings with it a range of backgrounds, skills and knowledge to drive us forward as an organisation. We welcome expressions of interest from all sections of the University community.